Mother Hen

Once, when I was about 18, I took a personality test as part of a team building activity. The test consisted of reading through a number of scenarios, then choosing the option that best described how you would respond. In the end, everyone was deemed a certain kind of animal.

Guess what animal I got? No, it wasn’t a graceful swan or speedy cheetah or even a loyal dog.

I was a Mother Hen.

image

MOTHER HEN:
Quiet, kind, and conscientious. Can be depended upon to follow through. Usually put the needs of others above your own. Stable and practical. Value security and traditions. Rich inner world of observations of others. Extremely perceptive of other’s feelings. Interested in serving others.

I can’t say I was terribly pleased with this description as a young adult. It seemed terribly uncool, dull and boring.

Now, more than 20 years down the road (I am showing my age…eek!), I take great pride in being called a Mother Hen. I care very much for other people and I love to be able to help someone in need. It may not be cool or exciting, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I guess I’ve always been a Mother Hen, from looking after my younger brothers to working as a Resident Advisor at University and helping refugee children acclimate to a new life in the US to today. Today I am a mother to two wonderful children and I work in our local primary school. When I finish my work day at school, I come home to carefully craft delicious cookies to help Mummy’s I’ve never met. I am happiest when I am helping others.

I am a Mother Hen.

Just for fun:
I found this quiz you might like to take. Surprise, surprise, I was found to be a Mother Hen, again. ☺

What Kind of Mother Will You Be?
http://m.sofeminine.co.uk/tests-quizzes/what-sort-of-mum-will-you-d21680.html

All the best,
Meg xx

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Mother Hen

Leave a Reply

